Appointments of Chair and Deputy Chair of the Independent Prison Monitoring Board (IPMB)

The Prison (Independent Prison Monitoring Board) (Jersey) Regulations 2017 were agreed by the States Assembly in January 2017 and the Independent Prison Monitoring Board (IPMB) was then established.

The Regulations provide that the IPMB must satisfy itself of:

- a) the treatment and welfare of the prisoners;
- b) the state of the premises of the prison; and
- c) the administration of the prison.

The role of the IPMB is to provide a safeguard to ensure people detained at HMP La Moye are treated correctly.

Article 2(1) of the Schedule to the Prison (Independent Prison Monitoring Board) (Jersey) Regulations 2017 stipulates that the IPMB shall consist of 7 or more persons, including a chairman and a deputy chairman. The Regulations provide that the Minister must appoint the members of the board and, in particular, that the Minister must appoint a chair and deputy chair from the membership of the Board.

Appointment of new Chair and Deputy Chair

The position of Chair of the Board became vacant after current Chair gave notice of her intention to resign from that position as of 1 January 2024. As the previous Deputy Chair put themselves forward for the role of Chair, this therefore also left the role of Deputy Chair vacant.

Expressions of interest were sought from the other Board members, and the below individuals put themselves forward for the position of Chair and Deputy Chair, respectively.

The appointments will be effective from 1 Jan 2024.

The Minister has appointed:

Norma O'Sullivan as Chair of the Board

Grant Rogerson as Deputy Chair of the Board.

Norma O'Sullivan joined the IPMB in June 2021, and since January 2022, has held the role of Deputy Chair. Grant Rogerson has been a member of the IPMB since November 2022.

Financial and manpower implications

Members of the IPMB serve on an honorary basis. Accordingly, there are no financial or manpower implications arising from this proposition.